West (Lincoln County)

John Patterson, Branch Director

John Patterson holds a USSF ‘D’ License and has over 20 years coaching experience with various Clubs, High School and College.  He was the Assistant Coach and Goalkeeper Coach for the Dallas Sting (’87 – ’89) that won USYS National titles in ’87 & ’88.  John was the first Women’s Head Coach for Richland College (’89-’91) and assisted the Men’s program.  In 1995, he moved to Boston were he coached the Girls program at Arlington High School (’95-’97).  John coached the Charles River United Soccer Club (’96 – ’98) Girls ’78 team that won States and were Regional runner-ups. After a 10-year hiatus to focus on his family and career (IT), John moved from Boston to Denver NC in 2007.  Beginning in 2010, he coached his kids for NMSC in the Academy recreational program in Denver.  Since 2013, John has been staffed at LNSC Lincoln County, coaching Academy Girls, the U15 Girls (’01) and is the branch goalkeeper coach.

John played club soccer growing up in Dallas TX in the early 70’s - ‘80s.  John recieved a soccer scholarship, as a goalkeeper,  and played Sam Houston State University (Huntsville, TX NCAA Division I). After college, he was recruited by professional teams in Dallas playing indoor and outdoor in the USISL and USL (Richardson Rockets, Arlington Arrows, ’87-‘90).  John was part of the initial MLS combine and MLS Draft in 1993.

Darryl White, Staff Coach/Assistant Registrar

Darryl White has coached soccer in the Lincoln County and Iredell County area for over 17 years.  He currently holds his NSCAA Advanced Regional Diploma.  He is one of the original founders of middle school soccer in Lincoln County.  Darryl coached boys and girls middle school soccer at Statesville Middle School for 4 years and at East Lincoln Middle School for 8 years.  He then moved to East Lincoln High School as the JV boys and girls coach and assistant varsity coach, working with Coach Jason Dragoon.  While  working at ELHS Coach White was named North Carolina Assistant Coach of the Year.   Darryl coached 3 seasons of recreational soccer with North Mecklenburg  Soccer Association.  He played 4 seasons of adult recreational soccer with North Mecklenburg  Adult Soccer League.  Coach White was an assistant coach with one of the first Iredell Rowdies girls club teams out of Mooresville( Iredell Rowdies eventually became Lake Norman Soccer Club.)  This is his third season with LNSC, having coached boys academy and U12 Challenge girls.

Rush Simmons, Staff Coach

Rush has been coaching with LNSC West since it's inception 3 years back. Rush is a 2008 Graduate of University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill where he graduated with a degree in Political Science. He further attended Campbell Law School in 2012. He is a practicing lawyer in Lincoln County. 

Rush grew up in the Charlotte area playing his club soccer for South Charlotte Soccer Association, and North Mecklenburg Soccer Club. As a club palyer Rush was part of a Challenge State Cup Champion team as well as a Kepner Cup State Champion team, while also winning a Junior Olympic Gold Medal. He was a Captain, MVP, Coach's Award Recipient, Offensive Player of the Year, and Defensive Player of the year in his high school career between Vance High School & East Lincoln High School. Rush was also selected multiple times to All-Conference & All-Region teams in High School.

Jason Dragoon, Staff Coach

Jason holds a NSCAA Premier Diploma. He grew up playing high school and club soccer in Plattsburgh, NY. Unable to play in college due to Compartment Syndrome in his right quadricep. In August 2001, he took over the East Lincoln Boys' and Girls' Soccer Programs. The boys' team has made the playoffs seven times in ten seasons, conference champions in the fall 2009 and finished 2nd in the conference for three consecutive seasons.  Named Conference Coach of The Year 2003 and 2009.  His girls' team made six consecutive trips to the state playoffs, reaching the state quarters twice.  Named Conference Coach of the Year 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009.  Named Regional Coach of the year 2007.